Skip to content

My tiny red and white quilt

February 9, 2014

Ages ago I purchased (4) 20″ pillow forms.  I’m pretty sure it was THREE houses ago and I can’t rightly remember exactly what the plan was.  Oh my, my ability to hold on to things is a blessing and a curse.

Monday I got a bee in my bonnet to make a throw pillow.  Something that would be a nod to Valentine’s day but would also work during other seasons.  I have always loved red and white quilts.  It is a classic quilting color combination that never goes out of fashion and works beautifully with the traditional quilt square, bears paw.

Bears Paw |  TinyStitches

I chose 9 different red fabrics from my stash.  They each had a small white print on them and were roughly the same hue of red.  Using this mini quilt as my inspiration and this measurement sheet, I made 9, 6″ mini bear paw blocks.  To get my quilt top to the needed 20″ I framed the nine blocks with 1 3/4″ strips of the same white Kona cotton I used in the blocks and set red squares in each corner.

photo (5)

Before quilting, I layered my little top with a 21″ square of white cotton fabric, 21″ square of white cotton batting, and another 21″ square of white cotton.  I opted to quilt it in a simple diagonal pattern, following the lines of the blocks.

photo (6)

I used the envelope pillow backing method with a sweet little Mary Engelbreit red and white modern toile print I’ve hung on to for ages and ages.  It’s perfect for this pillow, absolutely perfect and makes me grin from ear to ear knowing it’s there.  Even better that I had just the right amount with only a few inches to spare.  I am so pleased with the result!

Envelope Pillow Back

I used the quilt binding method of finishing off the edges.  I hadn’t realized until I was hand sewing the binding down, that I can now use this as a small table top quilt or wall hanging or for it’s intended purpose, a pillow cover.

Red & White Bear Paw

I love the pop of red with the yellow and green.  Ahh, I’m already planning the next one I want to make – there are three more forms to cover.  And did I mention this entire project came 100% from my stash!  Hoping I can keep that streak going.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

