Skip to content

After School Snack:: Chocolate Chip Muffins

August 27, 2012
tags:

Last week I found myself at the library by myself.  Yep all by myself, which meant I could actually venture out of the children’s section for reading material {gasp!}.  I listen to most of my books, and honestly adult audio books I randomly pick off the shelf having only scanned the “dust jacket” scare me.  Clearly, I am never alone.  Small ears are always listening to whatever I am listening to, so my audio books have to be the G-ist of G.  And it’s hard to get a sense from the short paragraph on the back of the case what type of writing style the author has.

But scanning the shelves in the ultra silent side of the library, I discovered series of Amish themed stories I am really enjoying.  I think having a fictional window into the lives of hardworking centered women who live a beautifully simple life, made me want to simplify my own life a bit and rearrange a few of my routines.  I even made my children an after school snack … Homemade Chocolate Chip Muffins.  I haven’t made this recipe in years, but it is oh so good!  And I’m so glad I was compelled to revive it again.

 

 

Chocolate Chip Muffins

2 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup whole milk (skim -2% also works)
6 tablespoons butter – melted and cooled (I needed to substitute oil here & it worked!)
2 eggs – beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.   Line muffin pan with papers

Sift flour, sugars, baking powder and salt.  In another bowl, stir together milk, eggs, butter and vanilla until blended.  Make a well in center of dry ingredients: add milk, mixture and stir just to combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into muffin cups; bake 15-17 minutes, or until knife inserted in center of one muffin comes out clean.  Remove muffin tin to wire rack: cool 5 minutes and remove from tins to finish cooling.

Makes a dozen very full muffins.

 

 

Bake them in a mini muffin tin and they make a fun little homemade treat to include in lunches!    Yum!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

