Skip to content

Rock the Runway!

September 23, 2011

September is Pediatric Cancer Awareness month and in honor of two sweet little angels whose time on this earth was way, way to short, I have tried to find some small way to remember them each fall.

Last year it was pillowcases for ConKerr Cancer.  This year, my handmade wears are going to a benefit auction happening this Sunday in Wichita, KS called ROCK THE RUNWAY, A benefit for The Kyrie Foundation.  I loved that my funds were teaming up with so many others and going toward long term support – research to find better drugs, better treatments, and get us closer to finding a cure!

The Kyrie Foundation funds are currently granted to the Kyrie Foundation Tissue Bank Fund though the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation of the U.S, that provides research dollars to the world’s most productive children’s brain cancer researchers at institutions like Duke University, University of California-San Fransisco and Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada.

Rock the Runway has had a huge out pouring of support from Etsy sellers across the midwest and I’m confident their event will be a huge success!  They requested Boy items to help balance out all the adorable Girl items also being contributed, and I was happy to do just that.  A Go Diego! Go! pillowcase, perfect for any preschool aged little guy who loves adventure and of course, Diego.  I also put together a custom baby bundle of 5 burp cloths and two bibs all in chocolate brown and baby blue.

Organizers assembled goodie bags for all the auction attendees and we were invited to provide our business card, coupon, promotional item or flier to be included in the bags.  I decided to make a smaller, half-sized version of the little notebooks I made for the Girls Night I hosted last summer.  I ended up supplementing with some of the leftover cloths pins, since I grossly underestimated how much time it would take to make 150 little pads of paper, but I am so pleased with how this all turned out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

