Skip to content

Week 7:: end of the day

September 14, 2011

Photography Challenge Week 7:  What you wore today

VISITOR STICKER … I spent the first third of my day at the kids elementary school helping with height and weight during school pictures.  Funny how things like visitor stickers have a way of staying on you all day long … through the grocery store, school pick ups, soccer drop offs.

BOOK … This book went with me everywhere today and every chance I got I would sneak in a page or two, until I finally finished it!  I love a good book, and a long series of good books is even better.

QUILT:: It’s hard to tell, but this is a penguin quilt, made of beautiful bright bold fabrics.  My mother-in-law made it for the Kindergartner when he was born.  This quilt kept me warm during a quick afternoon snooze and while I finished up my book after the little ones went to bed.

My sweet husband reminded me that just because I was in manual mode didn’t mean I couldn’t use a flash.  Very true.  And I have successfully used a flash on manual mode before, but for this picture I intentionally left the flash off.  I like the back lighting and how it perfectly highlights what I wore today … a sticker, a book and a quilt, drawing your attention to subjects you wouldn’t otherwise focus on first.

You can see more contributions to this weeks photography challenge at A Step In The Journey.

Next week’s challenge:: Black and White

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 7:12 am

    I love the “no flash” look! What a cozy shot!
    Thanks for popping by my place!
    Kerry at housetalkn.blogspot.com

  2. September 14, 2011 4:15 pm

    The lighting in your picture looks awesome, and the quilt is beautiful!! Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

