Skip to content

Weekend Sewing: Christmas Stockings

September 1, 2011

Last month CraftHope announced project 14, Christmas in Dixie.  Christmas in Dixie for Tornado Survivors is working with CraftHope to provide handmade stockings for the 12,000 families that lost everything to the tornadoes this past spring.  So much about this project spoke to me and I couldn’t shake the desire to make a few stockings.  It took me nearly a week to finally figure out where I’d packed my stocking pattern, but this this afternoon I found it and got to work.

The fabrics are small pieces, no larger than 1/2 yard cuts, I collected nearly 10 years ago thinking I would make a Christmas quilt.  Since then my sweet mother-in-law has given me beautiful Christmas quilts and it’s time to put these fun fabrics to good use.  The stack I have has yielded 10 lined stockings!  I couldn’t be more pleased with how perfectly these whimsical prints are lending themselves to stockings.

The pattern is one I drew up five years ago when making stockings for my family.  It took a few trials to get the perfect shape – if you look closely you’ll see multiple layers of paper, and multiple sketch lines, but I love it.   I needed a quick reminder of how to sew a lined stocking with a cuff and was grateful to find this tutorial from Cluck Cluck Sew.  Just the reminder I needed.

I got a couple sewn together this afternoon before dinner.  They are getting faster and easier to make which is good because after sewing stocking one together, the pile of nine waiting felt like ninety-nine.  I’ll come back next week and show you the finished stockings before I ship them out.

What projects to you have planned for the long weekend?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 7:16 pm

    Thanks so for sharing. I have several already made (left over from last years inventory) and didn’t know what to do with them. I’ll send them out right away!

    • September 8, 2011 8:22 am

      What a perfect way to move out last years inventory! So glad you’re participating too.

Leave a Reply

