Skip to content

Week 4:: Angel’s Landing

August 30, 2011

Week 4’s challenge was to photograph from a high angle.  Fairly simple and straight forward.  But after some failed attempts at the park and when standing on a stool in the kitchen yielded me nothing … I turned to the archives and selected a photo from a bucket list cross off experience early last month.  I hiked Angel’s Landing in Zion National Park, all the way to the top.  No wimping out at Scout Lookout.  No turning back once we hit the chains or the narrow spine.

The view from the top was amazing.  Absolutely breath taking isn’t it?

Camera: Nikon D7000
Aperture: f/5.0
Shutter Speed: 1/250
Focal Length: 18mm
Lens: 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6

See those two people standing down the ledge a bit?  Yeah, I’m grateful for a lens that zooms, so I could take this without leaving my perch on the tippy top.

Camera: Nikon D7000
Aperture: f/5.6
Shutter Speed: 1/80
Focal Length: 130mm
Lens: 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6

Check out all the other “high angle” photos here.

Week 6 has us shooting from a low angle, and I promise not to show you pictures from the bottom of Angel’s Landing.  This week I’m adding a personal challenge:  Take my camera out of AUTO and set my own ISO, shutter speed and aperture for each photograph.  This is very new for me.  Very new.  My SIL and I attended a class yesterday on this very topic taught by the talented Shelly Goodman.  Wow did we learn a lot and I have homework assignments that I hope will help me move past my scared spit-less cause I don’t want to screw up a can’t-ever-capture-it-again-picture.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 11:12 am

    Great pictures!! What an amazing place!! I visited Zion National Park when I was 13 or so and I have always wanted to go back!

Trackbacks

  1. Week 10:: Hands « Tinystitches's Blog

Leave a Reply

