Skip to content

WEEK 2:: Smile

August 10, 2011

My husband made arrangements for a friend to take our family tubing Friday night.  It was the kids first time and they were so excited it, it was all I could do to keep them from wearing their life jackets all day long.  The weather was amazing … something I never would have thought possible given the triple digit heat we’ve had for weeks on end this summer.   We had a blast, and I got to photograph it all, or attempt that is.

“Sports” photograph is one of my weak areas.  For a mother who spends most of her fall and spring Saturdays on the soccer fields and who has spent her fair share of hot sweaty summer evenings in bleachers, I should have no excuses, except that  sports photography is my husbands domain.  It’s one of his hobbies and he’s good at it.  But you can’t very well photograph yourself tubing, and so I got his camera and his lens … and my picture for this weeks challenge.   Of all the pictures I took, a dozen or so are really good (in focus, facial expression is good, nice composition, etc.), but this shot, taken near the end of the evening, is one of my favorites … I love the facial expressions and the story they tell all by themselves.

Week 2 — What makes you smile?

Camera: Nikon D300
Aperture: f/4.0
Shutter Speed: 200
Focal Length: 185mm
Lens: 70-200mm f/2.8

I’m going to play with this beast of a lens more, both for sports photos as well as portraits.  I have so much to learn!

Week 3’s challenge:: bold colors.  I have some ideas up my sleeve already for this one, along with a couple fun party ideas to share.
Hopefully I can show you a picture or two shot with the beast.  We shall see.

Weekly Photography Challenge @ A Step in the Journey

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 10:01 am

    that is a great picture Kate! I love your husband’s expression!!! Wowie is that going to be a fun lens to play with! I have a 18-70mm and a 18-50mm and they aren’t near as much fun!

  2. August 10, 2011 10:56 am

    I love this! Sounds familiar! My husband is a sports writer and we have logged in a million hours at our own (and others) games! Still, my sports photography is soooo lacking!
    Thanks for popping by my place!
    Kerry at housetalkn.blogspot.com

  3. August 10, 2011 10:58 am

    Great picture! Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  4. August 10, 2011 9:38 pm

    This is definitely a keeper!

  5. August 10, 2011 9:42 pm

    Great picture!! I have lots of fond memories tubing behind a boat 🙂 I love the details you shared below as well. Thanks for linking up!

  6. August 11, 2011 1:28 pm

    I LOVE this picture!! I love seeing people’s expressions when they are tubing! I miss tubing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

