Skip to content

Spring and Summer Skirts

May 11, 2011

The toddler is a typical 2.5 year old girl.  She has a unique sense of style and loves anything that twirls!  When the temperatures outside were cooler she’d insist on wearing a favorite dress layered with a skirt, leggings and sweater.  In an effort to prepare for warmer temperatures and the need for cooler clothing for the little tot, I went through my stacks of fabric looking for smaller cuts that would make up Dana’s (MADE) Simple Skirt.  Last week she announced that she’d been able to make one in 12 minutes … ahem … I can’t.  That was a bit humbling.  But even if it does take me three times longer, it turned out super cute, and let’s face three times longer than 12 minutes is still pretty quick isn’t it?

I love that this little skirt was made using things I already had.  The fabric is left over from an Easter dress I made my oldest when she was four.  She wore that dress forever, until the fabric nearly wore out.  I’ve long since recycled the zipper from that dress, but haven’t been able to part with the dress. The waist band is made using two rows of 1/2″ elastic from a huge spool someone gave me a while back.  The two rows of elastic makes a great waist band on these little skirts and helps to keep the elastic from twisting and rolling on them.

I also made her a lime green twirl skirt with butterflies and humming birds … I’m waiting for her to try and wear both of them at the same time.  So far she rotates between the two about six times a day.  Hilarious.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

