Skip to content

Bitty Basket Mailers

April 13, 2011

Do you think we send enough good, happy snail mail anymore?  Do you ever get enough?  I sure don’t and I know my kids don’t.  They LOVE getting cards and little packages in the mail.  I made these little bitty bags for my nieces for Easter a couple years back.  I filled them up with good little chocolates in fun shapes.  It took me a while, but I finally realized, if I’m going to splurge on candies for Easter, quality over quantity.  Buy less and buy the good stuff.   The Bitty Bags were made using this tutorial, via  bitty bits and pieces.  It’s quick and easy and was just what I needed to hold a few treats. 

Then I had to mail them… eek!  Mail them, safely without spending more on the shipping than I did the chocolates.

I ended up upcycling some 9×6.5″ bubble mailers.  I covered the front and back of the mailers in scrapbook paper … using white craft or school glue spread a very thin layer across the mailer, and lay the paper over top, carefully smoothing it out any bumps or bubbles and adhering the paper to the mailer.  Be sure to get the edges securely adhered to the mailer; use some clear tape if you have any trouble getting the edges to stay down.

To square off  two short side corners opposite the opening of the envelope to create a bottom and it stands up on it’s own, you’ll use the same technique you would when squaring off the bottom of a tote bag, turning the corners in toward the new bottom and securing the flaps with 2″ packing tape.  Use a large white 2″x4″ white label for the TO: address so the mailman doesn’t get upset with you.

Then drop your bitty baskets down inside the mailer, add a little tissue paper or paper toweling to keep everything in place, tape down the flap  and you’re set! It’s a great way to reuse bubble mailers and personalize them to the recipient.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 8:15 pm

    oh, those are darling! i’ll bet the recipients were absolutely thrilled. what a wonderful idea!!

  2. May 11, 2011 7:01 am

    I absolutely love this idea about personalizing the bubble mailers. I’m so happy to have found you though Etsy Kids and look forward to reading lots more here!

Leave a Reply

