Skip to content

Baby Blanket Bundles

February 20, 2011

One of my husbands co-workers called to see if I had something in my TinyStitches stash she could purchase for a baby shower she was attending.  There wasn’t time for a custom order, so I was really glad I had this bundle made up.  It’d been sitting waiting to be photographed and listed on Etsy.  Instead it’s now sitting in a nursery, patiently waiting to wrap up a brand new baby girl who will arrive very soon to excited parents and a big brother.

I thought I’d show some close-up pictures of how I finish my blankets.  There are lots of different sizes and styles and finishing techniques used on receiving or swaddling blankets.  My receiving blankets are approximately 34″ x 41″.  My toddler still has a favorite she uses for naps and play time (they make great capes and teddy bear picnic blankets).  My babies were all ones who liked to be swaddled, and I found that this size worked really well for swaddling newborns and older babies.

I turn all four edges of my blankets to give a finished hem and love to use coordinating and contrasting thread along with decorative stitching unique to each blanket.  For busier prints, I might choose a thread that blends in, for others, a contrasting thread that shows off the decorative stitching.  I feel it’s important to give my customers little details they won’t get from blankets purchased from big box stores or even some boutiques.

In case you’re wondering, one of the most common other ways of finishing off a single layer flannel blanket is with a serged edge.  It’s a very different finishing technique than what do.  A special sewing machine called a serger is used to sew multiple threads around the outer edge of the blanket, encasing 1/4″ or so of the raw edge in threads.  Confused?  Look at the side seam of your t-shirt or slacks.  It was finished with a serger, and the look of that seam is what you’ll see around the outer edge of a blanket finished with a serged edge.   Many use it because it gets the job done quickly and  prevents the fabric from fraying.

So the next time your swaddling your baby, cuddling a friends newborn, or shopping for a shower gift, take a closer look at the finished edge of the blanket.   You know what my preference is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

