Skip to content

Handmade Gifts

December 18, 2010

For the last couple of years I’ve tried to have my children make gifts for them to give to the aunts, uncles and grandparents.  They have been items I could inexpensively and easily help them bang out a dozen or so of.

My boys aren’t uber crafty like my girls.  They like to do things with their hands, but having them help me sew something isn’t exactly their style.   In the past, they have selected one of the super cool PDF calendars on Etsy and helped us cut and assemble them.  I totally recommend this for any mass gift giving need … great for teachers, neighbors, family, etc.

I am really excited about what we picked out this year.  It’s functional, chic, inexpensive, and a perfect project for my boys to do with their dad.   The idea and directions belong to Anna over at Noodlehead and back in November she shared detailed instructions on The Polkadot Chair.


The boys really enjoyed helping the husband with every step of the project (except varnish – we wanted them to still have brain cells) .  Thanks to our drill press we were able to make this project kid friendly.  We also spread the project out over multiple days so they didn’t get bored or tired of the project … they made 8 … that’s a lot for a 4 and 7 year old.  I’m thinking this would make a great cub scout or boy scout project.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 9:07 pm

    LOVE! Such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

