Skip to content

We have a Winner!!

May 21, 2010
tags:

First, can I just say a huge “THANK YOU!” to everyone who came by and entered this little giveaway of mine.  I had serious doubts about participating, my blog is pretty new (I started it a couple weeks ago, transferring all my crafty posts from my personal/family blog – and honestly, not even my Mama knows about this blog), but late Sunday night I took a huge deep breath and just did it.  I am so glad I did!  You have all made this such a fun experience.  You are so gracious and sweet and are making some seriously good food in your kitchens! Woo Hoo! I hope you had fun entering all the giveaways from Sew,Mama,Sew!.  Although I haven’t won any, it was so fun to see all the creative goodness in the world, wasn’t it?  So refreshing.

And so our winner … comment #146

SoozeM,of Pieceful Threads — “Wow what gorgeous aprons, I really love the floral! I love baking cakes, especially orange cake with cream cheese icing – yum!”


Doesn’t that sound wonderful?  Orange cake with cream cheese icing!  Yum.  I don’t have SoozeM’s recipe, but our family has a favorite orange cake that we make for special occasions (like birthday breakfasts, and holiday celebrations).  And since this is a celebration, I’m sharing the recipe:

FRESH ORANGE CAKE:

1 pkg. yellow cake mix with pudding
1 cup fresh orange juice (we use concentrate all the time, cause sometimes that’s just what you’ve got)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
4 large eggs

GLAZE:

1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
3 tablespoons fresh orange juice
1 teaspoon fresh grated orange zest
Prepare a 12-cup Bundt pan with butter and flour.  Preheat oven to 350F.

Place the cake mix, orange juice, oil, sugar, vanilla and eggs in a large mixing bowl, and blend well for 1 minute.  Scrape down sides and the mix again at a slightly higher speed for 2 more minutes until mixture is thick and smooth.  Pour batter into pan and bake for 45-47 minutes.  Cake should be golden brown and smell divine!  Cool in pan for 20 minutes on cooling rack, then turn cake out onto cooling rack and cool for an additional 30 minutes.  To help release the cake, run a knife down the sides of the pan lifting the cake up slighting as you go around the cake to help release it.   Make glaze while cake is cooling a second time.  Place cake on serving platter and drizzle with glaze.   [This cake freezes really well!  Just wrap the cooled, unglazed cake really well in plastic wrap and foil.  Freeze for up to 6 months.  Thaw on counter overnight, and glaze once at room temperature.]

I’ve done some fun sewing this week, and I’ll be back to share some of those projects … hopefully this weekend.  I’ve got some custom sewing work to take care of before the three big kids get out of school.  Anyway, I’m cooking up a tutorial and a how-to that I think you’ll love, so come on back or add me to your reader, I promise we’ll become fast friends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 9:19 am

    The cake looks so lovely. Thanks for the recipe. I can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

