Skip to content

Four Little Pastry Chefs

May 8, 2010
tags:

The 4th grader started planning her birthday party back in January.  She would have three-four girlfriends over, they would bake cakes and cookies and decorate them, eat dinner, play outside, and about 10 other things.  We finally got her narrowed down to a more manageable agenda and tonight had three of her school friends over for her birthday celebration.  The husband took the four other kids out to purchase Mother’s day cards, and get a bite to eat, while I manned the party.

This was by far the most laid back birthday party I have ever thrown!  It was more like an organized play date … four 10 year-olds is SO different, so wonderful, so easy!   We all had a great time.  We had 6″ cakes for them to decorate and cupcakes too, with colored frosting and decorating bags and every kind of sprinkle and candy I could find.  The cakes were part of their take home party favor, and the cupcakes became the birthday cake.  Then we made homemade pizzas for dinner that they each got to personalize with their own toppings.


We had thought about letting each of the girls decorate their own apron as a gathering activity at the beginning of the party, but once you purchase the apron and all the decorating supplies, the cost started to get totally out of control.  Plus we were trying to keep the party to 2 hours or less … there just wasn’t time to add that too.  So I embarked on the adventure of making them, and although I hit more bumps in the process than I’d anticipated, I am so glad I went this route.  The colors, the fabrics, everything was totally worth it.    The girls LOVED them!

I made each girl a flower rosette pin for their apron using the recent ‘scrappy strip rose’ tutorial by Cluck Cluck Sew.  I used 1.25 yards or so of fabric for each pin to scale them more to a 10 year olds body.  I made an extra one to wear on a dark denim jacket I have – all those fun summer colors looks fantastic on the deep navy background.

I made six aprons, two of each design, but only four were claimed.  I’ve decided to give one of the extra’s away during Sew Mama Sew’s May Giveaway Day, May 17th – May 20th.  So come back on May 17th for the details about how to enter the giveaway and which design I’ll be mailing out to a lucky reader.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donita Bouton permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:47 pm

    my favorite apron is the cute stripe that does not stop!
    I need extra aprons around for the granddaughters when they come over and want to help in the kitchen!
    Enterme in the drawing;-)

Leave a Reply

