Skip to content

Summer Skirt

April 26, 2010

Last week the 3rd grader and I went to the fabric shop after her soccer game for a quick look.  They were having a great sale on cotton prints I wanted to check it out and wanted to purchase some fabric to make her a skirt.  We came home with this combination and grand plans … a drop waist twirl skirt that would hit just below the knees and be perfect for wearing to church.  The waist band/yoke would be the purple flowers, the main portion of the skirt the hot pink floral and then the stripe, a peak out ruffle attached to an under skirt.

There are so many great tutorials out there for skirts of every kind.  Most of them are more for little girls, and mine isn’t little anymore.  She’s often mistaken for a 5th grader, so I ended up using many of the current tutorials for skirts as a “guide” and away we went.  This is NOT the type of sewing I feel uber comfortable doing.  See, I’m a pattern girl. I prefer to start with a pattern and very clear step-by-step instructions.  Then I almost always modify the foundation with little extras … tucks, ruffles, piping, buttons, ric rac, ribbon, trim, etc.

In the end I decided to not include the stripe as a ruffle peek out.  I was worried it would look too little girl-ish and be too much for my “grown-up” 3rd grader.  I found a great soft green in the fabric stash, that picks up the limey new grass green accents in the large pink floral.  It proved to be just the right accent along the hem.  It fits perfectly (with room to grow too!) and she loves it.  I think I’ve even found the perfect t-shirt to go with it, and if I can get to the store with my wallet sometime this week, she should be able to wear it to church Sunday.
Last week a discovered a fellow EtsyKids team member’s shop, Butternut Boutique, after she requested some advice on the team forums.   After passing on my inexperienced words of wisdom, I found this little gem in her shop, and did something I rarely.ever.do – I purchased it on the spot.  It has everything a crafting mother of three girls needs … it’s totally adorable!, it’s got the grippy strip on it so it won’t slide out of the babies hair, the clip it’s self is covered in ribbon – a detail I personally look for, and I have no idea how she made it, so I’m not tempted to tell myself, “oh, you can make it yourself” – ah, no.   Her offer of free shipping at the time, also helped.  It arrived on Friday, and look, it matches the new skirt perfectly!  Woo Hoo!

If you’re wanting to make a skirt, try these two tutorials … Apron Skirt from my friend Lori OR The Polka Dot Chair has a couple of cute skirt tutorials to try.  Of course there are plenty of other great tutorials, just do a Google search for them.  They’ll pop up for sure!

I’ve got another skirt on the sewing machine this week. It’s orange, using this pattern.  The 4th grader has a birthday on Sunday and there is lots to do in preparation for her special day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 1:55 pm

    My daughter wants one of these skirts…she loves it!!

Leave a Reply

