Skip to content

Tutorial: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

April 22, 2010

I LOVE reusable shopping bags.  But every one advertises the store where you purchased it, and some are boring to boot!  If you’re not a huge fan of advertising the local establishment – in this case Walmart. It’s really easy to cover it up in a fun, chic way. Here’s what you’ll need …

2 – 50¢ reusable shopping bags from Walmart
1 fat quarter in a coordinating pattern or shade
ruler
rotary cutter and matte – or scissors and ruler
blue bobbin thread – as close as you can come to matching the color of the bag – if you care, if you don’t, any color will be fine.
coordinating or matching thread for the top.
Iron
Sewing machine

* Iron out any wrinkles or creases in your fat quarter.
* Cut the fat quarter into four strips 4.5″ x 22″.
* Sew two strips together along the 4.5″ edge, matching the design of the fabric as best you can to hide the seam. Finished strip should be 4.5 x 40ish
* Trim any excess so seam is 1/4″.
* Iron down 1/4″ – 3/8″ of raw edge, on both of the long sides of your strip of fabric.
* Pin fabric strip over printed Walmart logo, starting and stopping, in the side gusset panel of the bag. Use a ruler to measure ~ 5″ from the top of the bag to insure your fabric strip straight all the way around your bag. I found that the exact measurement varied from bag to bag, as the logo must have shifted a bit during the printing/sewing process.
* Trim fabric leaving 1/2″ overlap, plus 1/2″ to turn under. Pin in place.
* Sew fabric to bag, sewing, 1/8″ from the edge. Sew down overlap flap.
* Reinforce pre-stitched side seams of bag and handles if desired.

P.S. Once covered in a fun print, they make great, functional gift bags!!
Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 2:39 pm

    Thats a great idea! I have some ones that I can attempt this on this weekend.

    Thanks!

  2. April 22, 2010 8:54 pm

    Dang! What a great idea! I’m sick of being asked why I don’t have so&so’s bags when I’m checking out with the other so&so’s bags. Know what I mean? I’m bookmarking this great idea.

    Thanks.

  3. April 27, 2010 6:48 pm

    i love your beautiful handmades. this is amy lynne’s sister, by the way. i’ve always heard wonderful things about you.

  4. September 22, 2010 10:55 pm

    I got a great freebie tote bag that has a pocket on the side for a water bottle. I wanted to promote my bag to take around town tote bag instead of a shopping tote (I don’t care about the logos on those) I covered up the logo with a pocket I appliqued.

Leave a Reply

